If you are looking for a Virtual Signing, please visit our new site at WWW.GCREADINGVS.COM

April 09, 2020

Blog Tour: What I Like About Me by Jenna Guillaume + Giveaway!


Welcome to the What I Like About Me Blog Tour!

To celebrate the US release of What I Like About Me by Jenna Guillaume on April 1st, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive original content from Jenna, as well as 10 chances to win a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror, as well as one grand prize giveaway of a book, mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses!


Must Read YA Rom-Coms
by Jenna Guillaume

Romantic comedy is my absolute favourite genre, whether that be in book, movie, or TV form —which is why my first book is a rom-com, too! When the world feels dark and scary, rom-coms are my go-to source of comfort and joy. They feel more vital than ever these days. Here are some of my fave YA rom-com books that I guarantee will brighten your day…

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
I adore all of Stephanie Perkins’ books, but her debut Anna and the French Kiss will forever hold a special place in my heart. Who can resist falling in love with a cute guy with a British accent in Paris?! The book is full of so much humour, not to mention incredible chemistry. It brought me so much joy the first time I read it that I immediately knew I wanted to write YA rom-coms too.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
I’m obsessed with To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before—both the book and the movie. A lot of it is down to Peter Kavinsky (whoa whoa whoa), but I also love Lara Jean. Like her, I’m a total homebody and an introvert who would rather read romance books and watch John Hughes movies than do just about anything else. This book—and the whole series—is just so fluffy, I want to die.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
This book is endlessly re-readable (and the movie, likewise, is compulsively rewatchable). Never have emails been so swoon-worthy as they are here. The banter between Simon and his mysterious pen-pal Blue is just exquisite and makes me go all gooey every time. Simon is an easy character to connect with, and I love the way the book explores complex family and friendship dynamics too.

Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar
The characters in this book are in university/college, so it’s on the upper end of YA. And wow, it’s hot. It’s about a revenge plot that goes haywire when main character Jess finds herself wildly attracted to one of the fratty guys she’s meant to be (er, playfully) torturing. Of course, there’s more to him than meets the eye, and watching the layers peel back as they get to know each other is a lot of fun.

It Sounded Better in My Head by Nina Kenwood
Natalie is a teen whose sense of security is already on shaky ground thanks to her self-consciousness about her appearance. When her comfort zones fall apart thanks to the changing relationships between her parents and her two best friends, she’s sent reeling. Enter Alex, the cute older brother of her friend, who also shakes up Natalie’s world—but this time, in a really good way. This romance is SO DAMN CUTE and includes my fave trope—having to share a bed. Ahem.

Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil
Sam is an unashamed geek whose life is turned upside down when he befriends the cool, wordly new girl Camilla and eventually falls for her. Between the central romance and the wider, totally endearing cast of characters, this book is just a really good time. It’s very funny and sweet, with characters that feel real and relatable.

Heartstopper by Alice Oseman
This is one of my all-time fave graphic novels. If you haven’t read it, it’s about two British high school boys discovering themselves—and each other—as they become friends and then fall in love. The story and artwork are equally adorable and it’s the kind of book that just makes my heart sing.


*****

Blog Tour Schedule:

March 30th - BookHoundsYA
March 31st - Sprinkles of Dreams
April 1st - The Fandom
April 2nd - Fangirlish
April 3rd - Word Spelunking

April 6th - Julie Caught Reading
April 7th - A Dream Within a Dream
April 8th - Mundie Moms
April 9th - Good Choice Reading
April 10th - Crossroad Reviews


“This is the book I would hand to teen me.”
—Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Funny and heartfelt. I loved it." 
—Melina Marchetta, author of On the Jellicoe Road

“Debut author Guillaume's novel features funny dialogue and fresh takes on body image and personal relationships as well as a plucky heroine who slowly but surely comes into her own….Perfect for fans of Dumplin’, a hilariously sweet yet complex romance.” 
Kirkus Reviews




Follow Jenna: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Follow Peachtree Publishing: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

You know all those movies where teenagers have, like, THE TIME OF THEIR LIVES? This vacation is probably not going to be that.

The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she'd be doing over vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she's spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie's already shaky confidence. And especially not when her best friend starts flirting with the boy she's always loved. But Maisie's got something to prove.


As she writes down all the ways this vacation is going from bad to worse in her school-assignment journal, what starts as a homework torture-device might just end up being an account of how Maisie didn't let anything, or anyone, hold her back.


Jenna Guillame’s American debut features a plus-size protagonist with a compelling, funny, and authentic narrative voice. This relatable and charming novel about friendship, confidence, and self-love will draw readers in as Maisie’s realistic emotional journey unveils the importance of embracing one’s body and celebrating one’s self.





About the Author
Jenna Guillaume was the editor-at-large for BuzzFeed Australia, where she wrote about pop culture, identity, feminism, social media, and, most importantly, Chris Hemsworth’s biceps. Previously, she worked in the features department of Girlfriend magazine in Australia, writing about everything from bullying and body image to bad kisses and boy bands. She also contributed to Girlfriend Life Hacks, an essential guide to navigating a girl’s completely-awkward-but-totally-awesome teen years. Guillaume lives in Australia. Visit her website at jennaguillaume.com.



GIVEAWAY

  • 10 winners will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway





GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY
  • One winner will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me, WILAM pocket mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway





3 comments:

  1. I loved the old movie The Long Hot Summer. Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Maisie sounds like an interesting character! I would love to read her story

    ReplyDelete
  3. Maisie sounds like an interesting character! I would love to read her story

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.