January 19, 2018

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston Excerpt!






A richly-imagined, gripping historical fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, The Valiant recounts a seventeen-year-old's tumultuous journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary female gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.

The youngest daughter of a proud Celtic king, Fallon has always lived in the shadow of her older sister Sorcha's legendary reputation as a warrior. But when Fallon was a young child, the armies of Julius Caesar invaded the island of Britain and her beloved older sister was killed in battle.

On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister's footsteps and earn her rightful place in her father's royal war band. She never gets the chance.

Instead Fallon is captured by a band of ruthless brigands who sell her to an exclusive training school for female gladiators--and its most influential patron is none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, Fallon's worst enemy, the man who destroyed her family, might be her only hope of survival.

Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, chilling threats, and the dangerous attention of Caesar himself to survive the deadly fights that take place both in and out of the arena - and claim her place in history among the Valiant.


PURCHASE YOUR COPY


January 12, 2018

Book Spotlight: Busted by Gina Ciocca + Giveaway!


Title: Busted
Author: Gina Ciocca
Pub Date: January 2, 2017
ISBN: 9781492654292

Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year’s Mistake will steal your heart!

Marisa never planned to be a snoop for hire. It wasn’t like she wanted to catch her best friend’s boyfriend making out with another girl. But as her reputation for sniffing out cheaters spreads all over school, Marisa finds herself the reluctant queen of busting two-timing boys.


And her next case? It’s for ex-frenemy Kendall. She’s convinced her boyfriend, TJ, has feelings for someone else and persuades Marissa to start spying on him. But the more Marisa gets to know sincere and artistic TJ, the more she starts to fall for him. Worse yet, the feelings seem to be mutual. Marisa knows she needs to give up her investigation—and the spoken-for guy who may just be the love of her life. Then she uncovers new secrets about Kendall and TJ, secrets that take “cheater” to a whole new level…




January 09, 2018

Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman Book Highlight + I’m giving away #Thunderhead thanks to @SimonTEEN!



Hey GCReaders!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

We have a very special post for you today!

Happy Book Birthday to Thunderhead which releases today!!!! In celebration we are hosting a giveaway thanks to SimonTeen!!!

We are super excited for Thunderhead and a couple of other upcoming releases this year.

We have a feeling this year is going to be the year of PURE AWESOMENESS in the young adult world.


January 08, 2018

Blog Tour - Dream Cast & Giveaway: DEATH ISLAND by Kelsey Ketch!



Death Island by Kelsey Ketch
Genre: New Adult
Publication: December 31st, 2017
Cover DesignerDesiree DeOrto Designs


Her family name tainted by her great-grandfather’s crimes of piracy, Meriden Cummings is far from the typical 18th century woman. A social outcast, she works in a carpentry shop in a small village, where the people barely tolerate unconventional behavior.

However, her life takes a turn after a gang of pirates attack her village and her blood reveals an ancient map adorned with Mayan glyphs leading to Death Island. An island legends say is ruled by the Mayan god of the underworld, Ah Puch. Her great-grandfather had sought after the island before he vanished without a trace. Now, Meriden is about to journey across the sea to understand her family history.

There are only a few problems: her growing feelings toward a mysterious stranger linked to her great-grandfather’s past; a greedy band of pirates after her great-grandfather’s legendary treasure; and a contract she has unwittingly signed in blood with Ah Puch himself.


Purchase
99 cents for a limited time!
____________________________

About the Author
DSC_6339_RET_2
Kelsey Ketch is a young-adult/new-adult author, who works as a Wildlife Biologist in the state of North Carolina. During her free time, she can often be found working on her latest work in progress or organizing the New Adult Scavenger Hunt, a biannual blog hop. She also enjoys history, mythology, traveling, and reading.
Twitter: @kelseyketch
Facebook Page: Kelsey Ketch

____________________________

Dream Cast
Though I’m not usually a fan of book-to-film adaptions, I still dream that someone from BBC or Warner Brothers might pick up one of my novels and create an amazing cinema or TV show. Not likely going to happen. However, if Death Island happened to be that lucky novel, here is an idea of what my dream cast would look like. Listed below is the character’s name from Death Island, the actor/tress’s name and movie or show they have appeared in, and a line from the character they would play in Death Island.

Meriden Cummings—Nathalia Ramos (House of Anubis)
“Unless we learn how to fly in the next five minutes, we might as well hand ourselves over.”

Gregory Wilson—Alexander Ludwig (The Hunger Games)
“Second, it should be Scrapper, Lemmon, and Harrows receiving this vial venom, not me. I was only trying to protect Miss Cummings from a dangerous situation.”

Matthew Kettlesworths—Luke Norris (Poldark)
“I swear to God, if you are even thinking of hurting her in any way, I’ll kill you right here and now. Do you understand?”

Rupert Railing—Eugene Simon (Game of Thrones)
“Bloody hell, Meriden, you’re injured. Seriously injured. Not like when we were children, riding my family’s horses, and you ended up hurting your ankle.”

Doctor George Hobson—Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock)
“It might be against my oath to kill you, but it doesn’t state anything about a crippling injury.”

Captain Cyrus Connell—Ewan McGregor (Star Wars)
“So, logically you felt it a good idea to put a hole through a respectable establishment.”

Joshua McAllister—Kenneth Branagh (Murder on the Orient Express)
“Nearly everyone that goes out to sea is running from something or some part of their life.”

Jackson Swan—Tongayi Chirisa (Crusoe)
“Wilson, he’s not worth it.”

William Nest—Geoffrey Rush (Pirates of the Caribbean)
“Stop gawking at me, lad. Unless you want me to use you as bait for the merfolk that bewitch these waters.”

Blake Baker—Marc Warren (The Musketeers)
“You want to kill me? Well, here’s your chance.”

Barley Lemmon—Burkely Duffield (House of Anubis)
“You don’t want to be messing with me that way, Iuv. Not unless you want to start something you’ll regret.”
And my dream composer would be either Hans Zimmer or Murray Gold.

Potential Movie Poster:


____________________________

Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway

December 29, 2017

Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron Blog Tour + Giveaway!





SEA OF STRANGERS
by Erica Cameron
Publication Date: December 5, 2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen


Know your enemy if you want to survive…

The only way for Khya to get her brother back alive is to kill Varan—the immortal ruler who can’t be killed. But not even Varan knew what he was doing when he perverted magic and humanity to become immortal.

Khya’s leading her group of friends and rebels into the mountains that hold Varan’s secrets, but if risking all their lives is going to be worth it, she has to give up everything else—breaking the spell that holds her brother captive and jeopardizing her deepening relationship with Tessen, the boy who has been by turns her rival and refuge since her brother disappeared. Immortality itself might be her only answer, but if that’s where Khya has to go, she can’t ask Tessen or her friends to follow.