August 23, 2013

Blog Tour/ Guest Post: Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
by April Genevieve Tucholke
Published August 15th 2013
by Dial

AmazonB&NAuthor Site

You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop--a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Welcome to the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea blog tour. What better way to ring in the end of summer than this truly creepy (but also steamy!) debut from April Genevieve Tucholke? Follow along on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays as April offers insights into her characters, her writing, and bringing gothic horror back again.

Book Trailer

April’s Guest Post:

Where did the idea for River come from? Well, when a girl reads a lot of Brontë at an impressionable age… River has the charm and mischievousness of Mr. Rochester and the wildness, passion, and manipulative ferocity of Heathcliff. But he lies more than both of them put together.

River’s amorality sets him apart from other male YA characters, I think -- the way he walks the line between good and evil. There are good-to-the-bone male characters and bad-to-the-bone male characters but I see River as some kind of Rhett Butler-ish in between. Yeah. Violet is in way over her head.

A couple of my characters are based on real people, but I’m not sure River is one of them. And by “not sure,” I mean I’d rather not say.

April Genevieve Tucholke digs classic movies, redheaded villains, big kitchens, and discussing murder at the dinner table. She lives in Oregon at the edge of a forest. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea is her first novel.

Blog Schedule

Follow along the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea tour to see all of April’s responses!

Monday 8/19: Jean BookNerd
Wednesday 8/21: The YA Sisterhood
Friday 8/23: Good Choice Reading
Monday 8/26: Katie’s Book Blog
Wednesday 8/28: Books with Bite
Friday 8/30: Alice Marvels
Monday 9/2: The Starry-Eyed Revue
Wednesday 9/4: The Midnight Garden
Friday 9/6: Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Reviews

1 comment:

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.