November 25, 2011

REVIEW: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Hallowed (Unearthly, #2)

ISBN 0061996181
(ISBN13: 9780061996184)
Expected publication: January 17th 2012
By HarperCollins Publishers
ARC Received By: Netgalley

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.

My Thoughts:

I have to say, that this book did not impress me as much as the first one. I had a really hard time getting into it. Unearthly was great from beginning to end. But with Hallowed it took me at sixty percent on the kindle version for it to get somewhere and intrigue me. Though, in this book you find out a bit more about Clara's mom's past, even some of her brother's and she learns about someone she's always questioned about as well. If I were to say who it is, then I'll be giving away a big spoiler.

However, I'm the kind of girl that need action from the beginning and then maybe it can slow down during the rest of the book. So Hallowed kind of disappointed me because there was entirely too much talking at the beginning and not a whole lot of explaining either, if you ask me. In fact, it left me with questions. And the whole "Love Triangle" thing that was happening in the last book intensified more in this one. Now I'm all for it, but this one wasn't to my liking. This book completely killed my "Love Triangle" buzz. However, regardless of how much I wasn't into this "Love Triangle", I was still rooting for one over the other.

I really loved Unearthly, but Hallowed did not bring it like I thought it would. I'm sad to say that I give this book only three stars and that's only because of the action that happened after sixty percent into it and the fact that you learn more about Clara's family background. And although this book brought to light a lot about Clara's family history, it lacked the Tucker I remember reading in Unearthly. I love that Tucker. This book just fell completely short from the first one.

3/5 stars!





  1. I also anticipated Hallowed because I enjoyed the first one too. Well its nice to know your thought about it since I won't be getting a copy until next year.

  2. Aww shame you didn't like it as much as I did. I do agree it has the whole middle book feel. I did enjoy finding out more about her mom and her past though. Wonderful review and hopefully book 3 will make up for it :) I also heard of a possible book 4!

    Xpresso Reads

  3. Oh no, this is the second 3-star-rating I'm seeing for Hallowed and I'm starting to get scared. I loved Unearthly soooo so much and I want Hallowed to be just as perfect. Luckily I have an eGalley of this and can read this soon, otherwise I'd die of anticipation.

    Thanks for sharing your honest opinion! It might save me from being disappointed! :)

    Fictional Distraction

  4. @Fiction Spark- I hope you like it.

    @Giselle- The whole waiting to 60% of the book to get somewhere is what turned me off. But after that, learning about the mom and her past, and that other person whom must remain anonymous was an added star to the rating. And you right I did hear somewhere at there might be a book 4. I hope they do make up for this one.

    @Carina- If you read Unearthly, then you have to read this one. The one big point on this book is that you learn ALOT about the mother and the family's history. So there's a big revelation in this book. You must read it to find out.

  5. I have Unearthly in my TBR stack errr I mean stacks. I do not yet have a copy of Hallowed. I think for now I will just leave Unearthly sitting until I can snag a copy of Hallowed. Hopefully soon. Thanks for the interesting review.

  6. Good the hear that Clara's background is explored a little more, but I think I need the action to happen a little sooner than 60% through. Love books that start off with a bang, especially a sequel. I'll still definitely read it though, hopefully it is just the middle book blues. Great review!

  7. This is a series I really need to start. I am one that either needs a lot of action going on, or something that is really descriptive. I also really love love triangles, but think they have to be done right.

  8. I haven't read either Unearthly or Hallowed, so I enjoyed the review and your honest opinion on what to expect if I read these books.

  9. @Guerilla- You're welcome. That's my job to give my honest opinions on books. Even if I don't like it. I will never bash a book.

    @Annabell-Love triangles are interesting! I happen to like them.

    @Candance- Yes the book didn't start of with a bang but you do get a little more insight on her family's history. Which is good.

    @Barabara- You definitely should pick up Unearthly. It's a really good story.

  10. So sorry you didn't enjoy this sequel. I can't stand when a book in a series fizzles. It almost makes you not want to read any other follow up book. Thanks so much for your honest review.


Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.