September 13, 2016

Review: The Graces by Laure Eve

The Graces
by Laure Eve
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published September 6th 2016
by Amulet Books

Add to GoodReads

In The Graces, the first rule of witchcraft states that if you want something badly enough, you can get it . . . no matter who has to pay.

Everyone loves the Graces. Fenrin, Thalia, and Summer Grace are captivating, wealthy, and glamorous. They’ve managed to cast a spell over not just their high school but also their entire town—and they’re rumored to have powerful connections all over the world. If you’re not in love with one of them, you want to be them. Especially River: the loner, new girl at school. She’s different from her peers, who both revere and fear the Grace family. She wants to be a Grace more than anything. And what the Graces don’t know is that River’s presence in town is no accident.

This fabulously addictive fantasy combines sophisticated and haunting prose with a gut-punching twist that readers will be dying to discuss. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars as well as nostalgic classics like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the 1996 movie The Craft, The Graces marks the beginning of a new wave of teen witches.

I’m not really sure where to start with this book. There were parts that were interesting yet I found myself ready to be done with it so I could move on to a new book. The synopsis had me thinking it would be The Craft meets Beautiful Creatures. But it wasn’t. It was so much more boring than that. I had such high hopes for this book but in the end was left feeling robbed of the time spent reading it and the story I wasn’t given.

When I first heard of this book, I was super excited about the concept; dark secrets and witchcraft. Yes, please, sign me up! But it was none of that. Nothing really made sense until the last 10% of the book and even then I was lost as to the point of the story that unfolded.

The characters were dull, stereotypical and boring. Forgettable. River, especially, comes off as a judgmental, insecure and an obsessive baskestcase. The parents were a poor excuse for having parental figures in the story and were basically nonexistent and I’m still confused as to their actual purpose other than being in the story because these were teenage kids. The plot twist was predictable and could be seen coming a mile away. And the ending you ask? There are no words for the “showdown” at the end of the book except to say my mouth dropped open in a “that’s it?” type of way. It was laughable and utterly unbelievable. I’m not a big fan of books that withhold so much information throughout the majority of the story you are confused in a “what is going on” type of way. For me, there is nothing to grasp on to that makes me want to continue the journey with the characters. I need breadcrumbs throughout the story and this didn’t leave a single drop.

The book is essentially a 2 star but because there were several quotes I liked, I’m giving it a 3 star rating. There are so many question marks when it comes to this book.

Here are some quotes that I liked from the book:

“Sometimes you need boundaries. Boundaries tell you that you’re loved.”

“Blank pages could be transformed. They were new lives, over and over.”

“Understanding something was one step closer to becoming it.”

“You love the library, all that brooding quiet and rustling paper. You hear the call of the books, like a far-off howling of wolves.”

“What a person choses to keep secret could tell you all you needed to know about them. What they showed was who they wanted to be. What they hid was who they actually were.”

3 Stars!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.