December 17, 2015

Review: Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes (A Falling Kingdoms Novel)

by Morgan Rhodes
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published December 15th 2015
by Razorbill

Rebels, royals, and monsters wage war over the Mytican throne in the shocking fourth book of the Falling Kingdoms series, from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes.

CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.

MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea.

It’s finally out for the world to read!

I am obsessed with this series, and pretty much love everything about it.

I read FROZEN TIDES in one sitting. No surprise there. The minute I got the book in my hand I completely stopped what I was doing and dived right in. I hate waiting so long for the next book in the series, but at the same time I love it. I know, makes no sense. I think it’s the feeling of waiting for so long and then finally getting the book in your hand. That feeling is inexpressible. If you are a bookish freak like me, then you understand.

Anyway, let’s jump in.

The characters: I have loved them since book one, FALLING KINGDOMS, and still do. Well, with the exception of one. I also love that the story just keeps moving and progresses with every book. It starts pretty much where the last book left off. So, if you are new to the series just know that you MUST read them in order.

There is a lot more magic in FROZEN TIDES. I love, love, love that! Oh, and lots more romance!!!! Squee!

Of course it doesn’t lack any action. Another thing I absolutely love about this series. It just doesn’t stop. And Morgan Rhodes does not hold back. If he/she needs to die, they die. LOL!

It is also UNPREDICTABLE. I can NEVER predict the big major twist and turns that take place. It’s like an explosion each time. Morgan Rhodes throws them right in and it fits the story perfectly!

One of the biggest things I loved about FROZEN TIDES was how much Magnus changes. You completely see a whole new side to him and come to understand him and his actions. They still aren’t okay, but you learn to see him differently and really get a feel for his character. I mean, I was already sold with the previous book, GATHERING DARKNESS, but I knew it was only a matter of time before the author made me fall in love with him. FROZEN TIDES sealed that for me.
He learns to fight back in this book, and take what he truly wants without questioning it all so much. *sigh* I love him….

Cleo also makes a couple of changes in this book, but for the most part I think her character was pretty much the same. She still finds herself in a situation where her life isn’t hers and she will do whatever she can to take it back.

Where do I start with her? She was a bit annoying to me in the first couple of books, but in FROZEN TIDES she is so hurt, angry, and ready for blood. It was a bit of a good thing, but also one of the things that made me sort of want to throw the book. She thought that she was in full control of herself (still does), and that no one has power over her anymore. She was bad-ass, but so cruel to those who actually love her. It was a bit shocking, but the story needed it. Everything that comes to light about Lucia is also making me crave the next book tripled. So you see, I am up and down with Lucia. My emotions don’t know which way to go when it comes to Lucia. And that is a job well done by Morgan Rhodes. LOL!

I have to admit that he was my favorite for a long time until now. I don’t know why? But I found him annoying in this book. I know he wasn’t great at making decisions before, or was very easily fooled, but in FROZEN TIDES I just could not stand him. I wanted to skip some of his chapters, but I couldn’t because EVERY chapter somehow leads up to the next scene. But I honestly had a lot of issues with him. Again, my emotions were up and down with him. This is probably the only negative thing about this book. How I went from loving him, to eh….

This is probably the LONGEST review I’ve ever written filled with errors left and right, and jumps from part to part, but who cares! That just shows you how obsessed I am with this series, the characters, the world, everything! It’s almost like when a NEW season of The Walking Dead comes on each time I get a new book in this series. I just cannot contain my excitement! (Completely different genres)

Each book feels so refreshing. The author doesn’t waste page after page repeating the same stuff from the previous book. She doesn’t play catch up in the first 5 chapters. She jumps right in and suck you into the story.

Now to wait for the next book…

What am I going to do when the series ends? *sigh* I need help… LOL!



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.