VIRTUAL SIGNINGS

To view and/or purchase our from our current virtual signings, please visit Good Choice Reading Virtual Signings!

Current signings include:
- The Disasters by MK England (ends December 17th)
- The Spy with the Red Balloon & The Girl With the Red Balloon by Katherine Locke (ends December 17th)
- The Cruel Prince & The Wicked King by Holly Black (ends December 28th)
- The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi (ends January 9th)
- King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo (ends January 15th)
- Reign the Earth & Imprison the Sky by A.C. Gaughen (ends January 18th)
- The Art of Losing by Lizzy Mason (ends February 1st)


PLEASE READ THIS SECTION BEFORE ORDERING FROM OUR VIRTUAL SIGNINGS

- If you order from multiple signings at once, your books will be shipped when the last signing ends. If you want your books to ship as they are released, please order them separately and pay appropriate shipping.

- Please double check to be sure you are ordering the correct book. Once the signing has ended and an order has been placed with the bookstore, we cannot change your order.

- We cannot be expected to notice if you accidentally order twice. If you think you have ordered but aren't sure, feel free to email us and we will check for you. Refunds will NOT be issued if you notice after the refund deadline has passed.

- Books will be signed around the author's schedule, therefore, we cannot *always* ship your order the day the book releases. This is a fluid process that will vary from signing to signing.

March 10, 2014

Giveaway/ Review: Half Bad by Sally Green

Half Bad (Half Life, #1)

Half Bad by Sally Green
Published March 4th 2014
by Viking Juvenile

AmazonB&NAuthor Site
A stunning, magical debut. An international sensation.

In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and fifteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his sixteenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.


     So I have been hearing nothing but great things about this book and just by looking at the cover, I knew that this book was going to be worth reading. I cannot recall when was the last book I read that had hardcore witches like the ones in this book. However, Sally Green sure knows how to write them.

     The book was different because of how it switched from different perspectives in some chapters but for some reason it worked. The chapters flowed and I liked how they varied in length, some short and some long. There was action, adventure, love and a story emerging from these very pages.

     I liked Nathan. I felt so much for him because of the position he is placed into because of his family and how his dad happens to be the deadliest Black Witch in the world. So with someone like that, your life is bound to suck. Nathan is tested on all levels and I want to point out one scene with his new guardian Cecilia. I feel that she cared for him, even though it did not show a lot of the times. Nathan meets some amazing people, some creepy and some where he will create a lasting bond.

     I really did like the take on witches in this novel. It was different for me and I think Sally Green really used this to her benefit. It showed how even the good side has its flaws and makes you think as a reader, are good and bad really different from each other. You will have to read and see for yourself.

     There is not much of a romance as there are scenes of crushes. I am hoping that Nathan chooses one over the other, but who knows. The second book will be definitely interesting in this area. I am excited!

     Overall Sally Green creates a spell-binding novel that can surely be a top 2014 favorite. I am looking for to the next book and how Ms. Green will blow me into another dimension. Brilliantly Written!

I give this book 4 bites!


Guest Reviewed by Chayse @ Books With Bite





Sally Green lives in Warrington, England with her husband and son. Having decided not to return to her successful career in finance, she is currently studying for a BA in Literature with Creative Writing with the Open University. Her spare time is spent hill walking in Wales and drinking too much coffee.


The publisher Penguin will be giving away one hardcover copy of Half Bad to one lucky commentor.
Rules are simple! Giveaway will end March 21, 2014.

GOOD CHOICE READING IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY LOST, STOLEN OR DAMAGED MAIL.

1. US ONLY!
2. Leave a comment with your email to enter.


21 comments:

  1. oh Great review and this book was different good :)
    aprilmom00 @ gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I feel like I can never find a good YA witch novel (besides the Born Wicked series), so I've been really excited to read this book. Great review and thanks for the giveaway! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've been waiting for this book to come out for what seems like ages :)
    I'm a huge sucker for witch books, and also I heard that parts of it are written in second person, which I am REALLY curious about. I'm glad you liked it, hopefully I will too!
    aircdrewood at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really liked this too and Nathan was such a sympathetic character. Thanks for reviewing it.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Half Bad? Or could it be Half Good? =) I love good vs. evil stories, so I'm definitely interested in picking this book up. Plus, the 4 star & up reviews I've only been seeing just drive home that fact. *Thanks for the giveaway*
    joanna9273 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm happy with underdeveloped romance in a novel, especially if it serves to develop characters. I'm curious about her take on witches in the book. Thanks!
    bethwade1 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks so much for the giveaway! And half white witch and half black witch? So that would be.... a gray witch?
    snowpup832 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Nice review

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Seems like another great book!
    linjody3@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. I already liked the sound of this book and your glowing review locked it in for me. It's on the must-read list. Thanks. carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx

    ReplyDelete
  11. this looks and sounds fantastic!!! Thanks so much for sharing ;)
    efender1(at)gmail

    ReplyDelete
  12. LOVE the ethical and moral questions it raises, based on your review, about goodness and wickedness!

    Nathan sounds awesome - a very different hero with lots to work through :)

    Thank you:)

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  13. It sounds like a great story, and I really like the character of Nathan.. Thanks for having the giveaway.

    ayancey1974(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'm SOOO excited to read this one!!! I really cannot wait to get my hands on it!! Thanks for the giveaway! :)

    beccaboo97200 at att dot net

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'm so curious about this book. I hear lots of buzz about it

    jenbook4 (at) gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  16. I've been hearing a lot about this book! I'm excited to read it despite the somewhat mixed reviews.

    Darith8ly (at) yahoo (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  17. I can't wait to read this one!!
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  18. Great review of Half Bad! Have yall seen the official Cinematic Book Trailer for it though??

    ReplyDelete
  19. Awesome review! I really need to read this one! And that bookcover! It's so unique, love it!!!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    thebumblegirl at rocketmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  20. This book sounds phenomenal! I can't wait to read it.

    Susan
    books4susie at aol dot com

    ReplyDelete
  21. Hi! Thank you for the giveaway! I'm really looking forward to reading Half-Bad!
    stacycomstock@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete