June 24, 2011

Author Interview with Toni LoTempio

1.    Let’s start off by hearing a little bit about yourself and your novels. 

Sure.  Well, I’ve been writing off and on since I was twelve J More off than on, unfortunately. In 1995, I joined the staff of SUSABELLA PASSENGERS AND FRIENDS, where I have been a staff reporter for over 10 years.  In January, I joined the staff of NIGHT OWL REVIEWS as the suspense reviewer/columnist.  My column, DARK STREETS, is featured on a monthly basis.

In 2007, Whiskey Creek Press published BOUND BY BLOOD, a tale of possession, and EBONY, which deals with zombies and the dark side of man. I have several other titles published by WCP, and Echelon Press published WITCH’S PAWN in 2008. In 2010 I self published NO REST FOR THE WICCA, which made Amazon’s list of top one hundred in Occult in March 2011, and my short story, THE SACRIFICE, appears in the e-published anthology KISS ME KILL ME.  My latest, RAVEN’S KISS, debuted in April of this year.

I enjoy writing in the paranormal genre, but I can also write contemporary as well.  Most of my writing is done on the weekends as I work full time and live in Clifton, NJ, with  my muses:  Rocco, Maxx, Gata and Trixie.  Rocco is also known as Rocco the SciFi Blogging Cat and has appeared on the SciFi Saturday Night website and radio show, and also on the Kids Need To Read website where he holds the distinction of being the first (and possibly only!) blogging cat to support this charity.

2.    How did you come up with the idea for Raven’s Kiss? 

Well, I’ve always been a big fan of the concept of parallel time, ever since I saw it on DARK SHADOWS years ago – and even though I do love vampires, I wanted to do something entirely different.  I thought the idea of shapeshifting would be cool, and I also liked the idea of a hero with tremendous mental powers. I researched Scottish mythology and I knew I wanted to put some of that in there, too – I found it fascinating.  The character of Raven just seemed to come naturally – I guess my forte is snarky strong women. LOL

3.    Did you always know you wanted to be a writer?

Deep down, I think I did, even though it got away from  me for a while – I’ve always loved reading and thinking, “gee, I could do that.”  When I was young, if I didn’t like the way a story ended I’d just make up my own.  Lois Lane and Superman got married a lot sooner in my versions, I can tell you that.

  Tell us what is the one BOOK you’re proud of most and why?

I’d have to pick Witch’s Pawn, simply because it is the very first book I ever wrote, when I was sixteen and completely hooked on DARK SHADOWS.  Of course, the version published by Echelon is nothing like the original, but the thread of the story – Charity Jordan, heiress plagued by guilt and possessed by a witch – remained the same throughout.

    What is most challenging for you as a writer?

Dreaming up a plot that makes sense and then crossing all the t’s and dotting the I’s.  It really isn’t easy, trust me.

6.    Can you give us a sneak peek to what you are currently working on now? 

I have several projects that I’m now working on with an agent, but I will be releasing two novellas for fans of Raven and Morgan (No rest for the Wicca) around December, as well as a YA fantasy with a Dark Shadows tie in early next year.

Lot's of THANKS to Toni for stopping by our blog today and for taking the time to answer some of our questions. For more information on Toni LoTempio and her novels, check out the following links:

Don't forget...

Check out the NEXT stop in Toni LoTempio's Raven's Kiss blog tour

June 25 – In The Mind of Wenona  http://wenonahulsey.blogspot.com


1 comment:

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.