April 27, 2011

Guest Post by Author Amanda Brice + Giveaway!

First of all, I just wanted to say thanks to Damaris for having me here on the blog!

Today I’m going to interview Dani Spevak, the heroine of my new YA mystery series, Codename: Dancer. Here’s what Dani had to say for herself:

AB: Tell us a little bit about yourself, Dani.

DS: I’m almost 15 and am a freshman at Mountain Shadows Academy of the Arts. It’s my first year here and I really like it so far. My roommate’s kinda weird, but I can’t really complain.

AB: Can you tell us a little about your adventure in Codename: Dancer?

DS: It all started normally enough. Well, as normal as I guess it possibly can be when a TV crew is on campus to film a reality show. LOL! Yes, that’s right –our school got selected for the new season of Teen Celebrity Dance Off, and I’m in the cast!

But then things got a little weird. Okay, more than just a little weird. Bombs, poisoning, and even arson! It definitely seems like someone wants me off the show, and I have to admit, it’s making me a little nervous. But my curious nature has definitely kicked in, and I’m determined to save my fifteen minutes of fame. I’m going to find out who is behind it all.

AB: I hear through the grapevine that the show’s producers paired you with teen heart throb Nick Galliano for the competition. Care to dish?

DS: Nick’s definitely not the world’s best dancer, but wow, is he hot! Every time he walks into the room, my knees go weak, which isn’t all that great when I’m supposed to dance, but that’s ok! Who cares how I do? I get to dance with Nick Galliano! *squee*

And the best part is he seems to like me, too. Can you believe it? This guy’s been linked in the tabloids with all kinds of celebutantes, and yet he asked ME out! *dreamy sigh* Oh yeah, sending me to boarding school was the best decision my parents ever made!

AB: Can you tell us what else is in store for you?

DS: If I can stop the saboteur before things turn deadly, I’ll be back in Pointe of No Return, which will hit the shelves in November. I’ll be auditioning for a professional production of Nutcracker, and I hope I get it, but rumor has it Hadley Taylor is also auditioning. (Gawd, I really hate her.)

What’s your reality TV guilty secret? If you don’t have one, why not? Leave a comment and one lucky commenter will win an e-book copy of Codename: Dancer.

Amanda Brice lives outside Washington, DC with her husband and toddler daughter. An intellectual property attorney for a large federal government agency, she combines her love of writing with her legal career by speaking on basic copyright and trademark law on the writers’ conference circuit. Her debut novel, Codename: Dancer (AMAZON), was released last week. You can learn more about Amanda and her books at her website (http://amandabrice.net/).


Thank you Amanda so much for stopping by today! 

Here is a little more information about Amanda Brice's CODENAME: DANCER

CODENAME: DANCER by Amanda Brice
Published April 14th 2011

Aspiring ballerina Dani Spevak is thrilled when hit TV show Teen Celebrity Dance Off comes to the campus of her performing arts boarding school. She trades the barre for the ballroom and gets set to cha-cha-cha to stardom with Hollywood wonderboy Nick Galliano.

At first their partnership is awkward, because Dani is in awe of her longtime teen idol crush. But soon their chemistry is heating up the dance floor and the attraction moves into real life.

Her excitement is short-lived, because someone wants her off the show. Bombs, poisoning, arson… Will Dani’s 15 minutes of fame be over before she reaches age 15? Dani and her friends are suddenly at the center of some serious sabotage. And if she doesn’t find out who is behind it, her next pirouette could be her last.

It’s like Nancy Drew in toe shoes in this light-hearted tween mystery, a finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart® Award for Best Young Adult Romance.

What they're saying:

“Fans of Pretty Little Liars and Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls will love Codename: Dancer. Sparks fly, tutus twirl, and a clever mystery unravels in what is sure to become a favorite among teens and tweens everywhere. Amanda Brice’s debut is a must read for every girl who ever danced – or ever wanted to!”

- Gemma Halliday, award-winning author of DEADLY COOL and SPYING IN HIGH HEELS

BONUS: Contains excerpts of "So Over You" by Gwen Hayes and "Queen Bee of Bridgeton" by Leslie DuBois.

Amanda Brice is offering an eBook copy of CODENAME: DANCER to one lucky commenter. All you have to do is answer this question:

What’s your reality TV guilty secret? If you don’t have one, why not?

Since this is an eBook copy, It is open international.
Contest ends May 4th @ 11:59 PM
You do not need to be a follower, but we would really appreciate it if you decided to stick around with us :-)

Good luck everyone!


  1. Back when I had tv, I loved Dances With the Stars. I have not two, but at least four left feet, can't dance at all. Heck, most of the time walking without falling is a challenge for me! Good luck with Code Name, Amanda!

  2. Enjoyed the interview, Amanda. And I loved Dani. You nailed how a teenager feels and acts. Really enjoyed Code Name. My daughter is reading it now. Best of luck!

  3. I love TMZ & So You Think You Can Dance. Occasionally I will watch Dancing With the Stars. Codename: Dancer sounds like a great book!

  4. I'm so excited about this series! So nice to meet you, Dani, and I can't wait to read your story.

  5. Great interview!

    I wouldn't say I really have a guilty secret, because I like what I like and I say it loud and proud. Ha. I also don't watch much tv. But, I do love me some Jersey Shore, despite the fact that I feel as though I'm losing brain cells with every passing second. :)

  6. I'm obsessed with Vampire Diaries....sigh...I know. But I can't help it lol

    deadtossedwaves at gmail dot com

  7. LOL, Jersey Shore premiered while I was in the hospital when my baby was born, so yes, I certainly do admit to having watched...um, once or twice. ;)

    It's a curious phenomenon. You feel both dumber and smarter after having watched. LOL

  8. I am so in love with Vampire Diaries lol

  9. And I hope you enjoy Codename if you get to read it! Thanks for stopping by and helping me celebrate!!!

  10. Hi, Amanda and Damaris!

    I just read Codename: Dancer--what a fun read. Congrats!

    I'm a reality TV junkie (yay, Survivor!), and fortunately I have a job in which I get to watch TV all day.

  11. Really great character interview. My reality guilty secret is any show with Tori Spelling and her Husband Dean McDermott. I love this couple and their shows are always so entertaining. I also love all things The Real Housewives.


  12. This sounds like a book my very girly granddaughter is going to love someday. She just turned six and is full of Cinderella and other Disney Princesses and changes clothes six times a day. The 3 yo granddaughter is more of a monster lover (well, of purple persuasion). We have no idea what the two month old granddaughter likes as yet

    My guilty tv pleasure? Hmmm. Watching Wolfgang Puck on HSN. I know. So lame. But I have some great cooking appliances now! lol

  13. Sounds like a great series. Please enter me in contest. I am a follower and email subscriber. Tore923@aol.com

  14. hmm, I really don't watch any reality TV so I don't have a dirty secret... or maybe that's my secret, who knows? The book do sounds like fun :)

    thanks for the giveaway!

  15. Mine is Keeping Up With The Kardashian simply because I love watching the sisters bickering with one another.

    Thank you for the giveaway and considered I'm in!


  16. I detest reality shows. I feel that most of their entertainment is showcasing the petty/hateful things that contestants say or do to each other. I don't like the message that this sends to our youth. That said, I do enjoy a book that can showcase a reality show.

    alterlisa AT yahoo DOT com

  17. Well, Dancing With the Stars is one of my favorite shows, so this book sounds like it's right up my aisle!


  18. I like TMZ, but for the humor. I don't really care what the stars are doing. Thanks for the giveaway!

    meredithfl at gmail dot com


Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.