June 10, 2014

Review: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)
Dark Metropolis
by Jaclyn Dolamore
Expected publication:
June 17th 2014
by Disney-Hyperion

AmazonB&N † Author Site
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

     The cover is what grabbed my attention. It looked mysterious, dark, creepy, and I wanted to know more. I have not heard anything about this author so I felt that this was going to be an adventure. Dark Metropolis turned out to be an interesting read that I am excited to see where this trilogy goes.

     The book follows three characters and their point of views as they find out where people are disappearing and why. This book had a little bit of a zombie-take to it but I felt that there was still more for it to develop. The story was a fast read and the chapters flowed perfectly.

     Thea was a character that had to live the adult life so that she could take care of her mother. She was a strong character, head-strong, but I did feel that she was not the main character throughout the book. Nan on the other hand has something inside of her that makes her the key to different things. We see her as being important throughout the book and I felt that she did grow consistently from beginning to end. Freddy, I felt I had the strongest connection with throughout the novel. He has a secret that is seen as a burden because his secret can kill him. I feel that all these characters grew from beginning to end and I am excited to see where they go from here.

     There was a little romance in the novel, not so much to drown you with it but just enough to leave you anxiously waiting to hear what will happen next. I do feel that this romance will not be one with a few bumps in the road due to the circumstances that these characters are currently facing.

     Overall the book proved to be an exciting read. I am looking forward to what comes next for this author. If you love a dark, mysterious read with a hint of zombies, check this book out.

I give this book 4 bites!

Guest Reviewed by : Chayse @ Books With Bite

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.