VIRTUAL SIGNINGS

To view and/or purchase our from our current virtual signings, please visit Good Choice Reading Virtual Signings!

Current signings include:
- The Disasters by MK England (ends December 17th)
- The Spy with the Red Balloon & The Girl With the Red Balloon by Katherine Locke (ends December 17th)
- The Cruel Prince & The Wicked King by Holly Black (ends December 28th)
- The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi (ends January 9th)
- King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo (ends January 15th)
- Reign the Earth & Imprison the Sky by A.C. Gaughen (ends January 18th)
- The Art of Losing by Lizzy Mason (ends February 1st)


PLEASE READ THIS SECTION BEFORE ORDERING FROM OUR VIRTUAL SIGNINGS

- If you order from multiple signings at once, your books will be shipped when the last signing ends. If you want your books to ship as they are released, please order them separately and pay appropriate shipping.

- Please double check to be sure you are ordering the correct book. Once the signing has ended and an order has been placed with the bookstore, we cannot change your order.

- We cannot be expected to notice if you accidentally order twice. If you think you have ordered but aren't sure, feel free to email us and we will check for you. Refunds will NOT be issued if you notice after the refund deadline has passed.

- Books will be signed around the author's schedule, therefore, we cannot *always* ship your order the day the book releases. This is a fluid process that will vary from signing to signing.

June 30, 2011

Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey (@amygarvey @Harperteen)



Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: September 20th 2011
HarperTeen
“It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn’t going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn’t think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder.
That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest.”


When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

I suggest when reading Cold Kiss you have a box of tissues sitting right next to you. I've never read a YA book that actually made me cry as hard as I did reading Cold Kiss. It made me cry at the beginning and at the end.

Cold Kiss is about a girl named Wren who falls in love with a boy named Danny, only to lose Danny in a nasty car accident. Not being able to let go and move on, Wren finds a way to bring him back. She always knew that she was different somehow. Not just her, but her family as well. After going through a bad time with her father leaving them, Wren wasn't ready to let go of Danny too. So she uses a little magic and brings Danny back. From there on you continue to read the struggle Wren has with letting go and moving on. She loves Danny with every single piece of her heart, but she also knows what she has done is wrong.

Cold Kiss broke my heart into a million pieces and then put it all back together with the ending. Amy Garvey's writing will touch you and give you goosebumps. She is so good at describing emotions, that you can feel exactly what the characters are feeling. Now I know some of you might be thinking, "Well, why would I want to read a book that will make me cry?" Trust me, it is so much more than that. It made me cry, smile and laugh. Cold Kiss is a beautiful story about love, family and friends. I am so sad it is over, but I am also very happy I got the chance to read it. I don't know if this is going to be a series, but the way it ended left it open for a possible second story or just for a stand alone. A MUST MUST MUST READ!


5 out of 5 Stars!






16 comments:

  1. This is the first review I've read for Cold Kiss, and it sounds like a really great, emotional read. Thank you for sharing your review, I'm looking forward to read this!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Holy crap, this book is absolutely stunning! Ms. Garvey has written such a heartwrenching story that has ranked in my top 5. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Christy, please, if and when you read it link me to your review lol.

    ReplyDelete
  4. DJ's life, omg you read it? I want to read your review!! lol

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love books that make me cry! Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thank you Jennifer! I really hope you like it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great Review, I am adding to my wish list!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm adding this to my list of BUY AS SOON AS YOU CAN

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm reading this right now! It is really good!

    ReplyDelete
  10. wow, this is such an awesome review! I really want this book now!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. ooh this book sounds amazing, haven't heard of it until now. Great review

    ReplyDelete
  12. Hmm, certainly sounds interesting and unique. I'll certainly pick it up when it's released!

    ReplyDelete
  13. -I need to read this book! I know I shouldn't be so excited because this book made you cry, but that's exactly why I want too! It's hard for books to make me brawl my eyes out. Plus, this book does sound really interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Wow, great review. Sounds like a book I would so love! :) I have it to read for review on NetGalley. I should read it soon.

    ChiKittie(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  15. Damaris I love your review. You got exactly how I felt after I finished reading this book. I broke my heart, but it was so worth the read. She brought you through the emotional ringer. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by! We love reading your comments and we try to reply back to each comment. So make sure to check back with us.